Home » Thursday Re-View » Thursday Re-View – Theresa Equals Crying???

Thursday Re-View – Theresa Equals Crying???

tear

It’s said that everyone has a gift to share with the world.

My husband and son would offer that mine is the ability to make someone cry within minutes of meeting me.

Whether or not that’s a “gift” is yet to be determined; none-the-less, I seem to have a knack for it.

The waitress at the local restaurant, the girl at the supermarket register, the 6’4″ gang member with tattoos all over his body (including his face), the stalwart doctor in the ER, the friendly neighborhood priest…the list goes on. And on.

No one seems to be exempt. And I haven’t even mentioned my clients, patients, students, etc. They’re included in that list, too.

My husband seems to think it’s some uncanny ability of mine to cut through the small stuff and get right to the meat of the matter. Others have told me that when I look at them, they feel like I know something about them that even they don’t know about themselves.

I like to think that people trust me, see me as non-threatening and recognize that the darkest parts of their souls are safe with me. I will sit with them in the darkness, weep with them in my heart, then help them to dry their tears to face another tomorrow. I will be their light until their own spark is blazing brightly once again.

And to help them to see – men and women, young and old alike – that crying is healthy. Often necessary. Can serve as a catharsis. Shows strength rather than weakness. Is liberating.

So what has happened with my blogging adventure?

The same thing.

That’s right – crying.

If you take the time to read the comments that some of my followers and/or readers make, you’ll see that the material on Soul Gatherings (start reading the category “Thursday Re-View” from August 2013 to the present for some examples) is not for the faint of heart. Often times, people say how much they cried while reading a post. How they can barely see to type for the tears. Or how they get out a box of tissues before getting started. Or how they might delay reading a post until they are ‘ready’ for it.

And this without people ever meeting me in person, face-to-face, where I might look at them like I know something they don’t.

So my question to everyone out there is this:

What is it about my posts that might make you tear up? Get a lump in your throat? Cry? Sob uncontrollably?

Really – I’d like to know. Any of your comments would be appreciated. I, for one, am grateful that you feel something that strongly when reading some of my posts, and I can honestly say that I never once sat down and intentionally tried to get someone to cry. Never.

So help me out here, please. Explanations will be welcomed. Maybe that will placate my husband and son, since now I seem to have a small audience who reacts in the same way as those who meet me in person.

But please don’t take too long. I’m working on my next post and I don’t want to depress anyone.

And guess what – you just made it to the end of one of my posts without crying.

So there! It is possible…

__________________________________________

13 thoughts on “Thursday Re-View – Theresa Equals Crying???

  1. Dear Theresa, I have never met you in person, but your husbands and sons remarks have some great value, you should give credit. As you know I am a photographer who loves spiritual poetry, because images and the right words just marry. Yet I haven’t cried, but at times I catch myself wieping over

  2. sorry pushed send button too early….. weeping over your posts. But that happens only out of happiness, to see so much compassion in you for your readers and patients, it is like….oh how grateful I am that there some beautiful soul out there who understands “The Truth” and spreads it out like seeds for the souls. Thank you ever for your kindness, hope that was short enough

  3. It is that one thing that a true healer has within their arsenal Theresa….that ability to use their hearts truthfully, and with love in what they do.
    As you write from that beautiful place within, another soul reading it can feel and sense the love that you offer within those words.
    It is the one thing that allows our defenses to come down when we sense the love that is being offered from another. It is YOUR truth from all of your life’s experiences and the wisdom and love you are now realising within your life BECAUSE of those painful and hard times.
    And within that it has built an empathy that nothing else can be measured against. The more you have had the courage, faith and love to go through those many things in life, the more walls you have removed, and the more love you give to yourself. And within that self love is where you now come from because it IS you, and what you share to all that read your posts.
    You have become the opposite as some who live in fear, who hold themselves tightly within those walls. You have gone through, healed and opened, and now give from that love and light that you have now become.
    It is only difficult to read your posts because we are tightly ‘holding on’ to those walls to stop ourselves from touching our hearts within, thinking it a weakness or afraid to touch what has so much meaning in our lives, but in truth it is the one thing that ‘should’ be released so that we can heal.
    Write on kind lady, there is much healing in the love that you share with us all, and gladly accepted 🙂

  4. Your posts come from you, through your heart and open us to the most vulnerable parts of ourselves. We experience love and empathy. You are a powerful mirror showing us who we are as love…at a time in our evolution in which it is most needed. You are here now to help awaken us all to who we really are. Thank you. Blessings to you as you continue to open more and more of us to our hearts.

  5. No question Theresa that your posts tend to tuck on my heart string. Your writing is genuine to me. And I get drawn into your stories as if I am there in the room. I feel the emotions of the situation and am touched by the way you tell the stories. So to me it’s your topics, writing style, or just who you are that does the trick.

Leave a Reply

